Team Tech Update

20170402_145951(0)[1]“We met at Greyhouse recently to begin assembly of our first robot. This robot will give us the opportunity to work on our understanding of electronic components and our Arduino programming skills prior to the production of our full prototype. The robot will identify objects, sort, and relocate them per a set of instructions.

Our corporate sponsor this year is Praxair. We’ve had the opportunity to tour their South Bend facility and observe their material handling practices in action. It was a great chance to learn about workplace efficiency, the economics of pairing people with machines, and occupational safety.20170402_151457[1]

We are also grateful to Professor Grant Richards in the Purdue Polytechnic Institute, who gave us a tour of a robo
tics lab in Knoy and offered advice on robotics design.

The team is looking forward to attending the SWE Annual Conference in Austin, TX this fall.”

-Tina Landon and Zin Naing, Team Tech co-chairs


Meet Our Team Tech Team

In 1992, SWE launched a new collegiate section competition sponsored by Boeing called “Team Tech”. The Team Tech competition emphasizes the importance of teamwork and interactions with industry in the engineering educational process. A team from every region gets sponsored to compete at the SWE Annual Conference in October in Nashville.

Team Tech is a new event to PSWE this year. Led by Jessica Place, a team of 9 girls are working with ADM to create a filtration system for a final product line to eliminate heavy metals such as nickel from the waste water.


I am thrilled to be in the position of putting together the first team PSWE has for Team Tech! We have a great team and partnership with ADM which gives me high hopes that we can make an lasting impression at competition in October

-Jessica Place, Team Tech Chair

The PSWE Team


Members Shown Above (L to R): Jennifer Claussen, Shannon Sremac, Lindsay Piispanen, Amy Cox, Melissa Roberts, Jennifer Purucker, and Jessica Place

Members Not Shown: Kitara Crain,  Sydney Worthington, and Cindy Karina

The Time Line

tt schedule