Meet the Board: Gail Fukumoto

This is another spotlight on our board members, as part of our Meet the Board series. Today, we feature Gail Fukumoto, the Trade Show Chair. The Trade Show is from 9:30am-4:30pm on Wednesday at both Armstrong and Forney atriums. 

1. Why did you choose to be the Trade Show Chair?

I chose Trade Show because it allows me to reach out to and help engineers outside of SWE. I’m having a blast working with representatives from other STEM diversity organizations to plan the Trade Show!

2. What are your plans for the summer?

My summer plans are up in the air at this point, but I’m looking to intern or gain lab experience during my time away from school.

3. Why did you join PSWE?

I joined PSWE because of its professional opportunities, but I’ve come to love it because I get to work and hang out with like-minded individuals. It’s everything that I could ever want in a club—SWE gives its members the opportunity to join intramural teams, do community service, and attend social events with free food!

4. What is your favorite TV show, and why?

I don’t watch TV nowadays, but I loved watching White Collar in high school because of the funny, witty, and charming characters.

5. Why did you choose your major?

I chose Materials Science Engineering because of its breadth and depth. I initially chose Materials because I wanted to learn about solar cells and renewable energy, but I’m open to exploring other types of materials.

6. What is your favorite restaurant?

I love so many restaurants, but if I had to choose a favorite, it would be Roy’s, an Asian fusion restaurant located in Hawaii. However, no restaurant’s food can compare to my Mom’s Salmon Poke.

-Subhiksha, your editor

Leave a Reply

