Join the Board!

Officer elections are coming up in about a month, which means it’s time to start thinking about joining the executive board as either a director or a chair. I’ve been on the board for the last two years as both the Student Affairs and Blog Chairs, and it’s been such a valuable experience for me. There are countless leadership and networking opportunities, and it’s a great way to get to know more about the organization as a whole.

For me personally, I joined the board because I was passionate about getting more women into engineering and networking with them. Coming from a discipline that always had one of the highest male-to-female ratios, I wanted to meet other like-minded individuals and form a bond with them. I also wanted to be more involved within PSWE through its professional events and general programs and to hopefully make it even better for everyone else.

As the Student Affairs chair last year, I gave points to the people who attended our events and chose the Members of the Week; my biggest goal was to award that title to more freshmen than my predecessors, which I did. As the Blog Chair this year, I wanted to create content that highlighted things about our organization, Purdue life, and about women in STEM as a whole. The year isn’t over yet, but I’m hoping I’m doing just that!

If you’re interested in applying to be on the board next year, come to the Leadership Callout at 6:30 pm on the 21st (room TBD). If any of you have questions about the board positions themselves (besides the ones I’ve done), I encourage you to take a look at our Meet the Board series where our featured board members so far share their experiences within PSWE and their year(s) on the board. If you have further questions, here is our full email list.

-Subhiksha, your editor

Leave a Reply

