Megan Hedges: Membership Vitality Director

This is another installment in our “Meet the Board” series where we introduce our board members to our readers. Today, we feature Megan Hedges, our Membership Vitality Director. megan

1.     What is your favorite thing about Purdue?

I think my favorite thing about Purdue is the wide variety of clubs available to students. Whether you want experience for a resume or to learn how to juggle, there’s gonna be a club here that can help you out.

2.     Besides SWE, what other extracurriculars are you involved in? 

I am also involved in the Juggling and Unicycling club (meets Wednesdays from 8-10 in the Armory ) which has been a blast for the past three years where I literally learned how to juggle fire! Besides that, I do a lot with the M and M program through Women in Engineering and also volunteer at ACE food pantry (open Tues 2-6 and Sun 6-8 in the Baptist Foundation).

3.     Why did you join PSWE?

I joined as a second semester freshman mainly because I was nervous about there being so few women in my electrical engineering classes. I wanted to find people who could support me and could relate to my situation.

4.     What does your ideal vacation look like, and why?

My ideal vacation would definitely involve lots of chocolate, naps, and horrendously cliché Rom Coms. Also, I want to be surrounded by puppies and learn how to fly.

5.     What does your board position do?

My board position is Membership Vitality Director, so I help out the Recruitment and Recognition, Multicultural, SWEetie Sidekick, and Student Affairs chairs and plan the Ice Cream Social and PCBC (Politically Correct Bar Crawl). On an average week, I will get updates from my chairs on how their events are coming and tackle any problems that may arise for them, put in attendance points if there’s a lot of events at once, and make sure we honor a Member of the Week.

6.     What is your guilty pleasure?

My guilty pleasure has got to be changing into sweatpants as soon as possible each day. There are definitely days where I enjoy wearing sweatpants even if it’s just for a two hour break between classes.

-Subhiksha, your editor

Leave a Reply

