Alysha Helmrich: STEM Engagement Director

This is part of our “Meet the Board” series, where we feature our board members. Today, we feature Alysha Helmrich, our STEM Engagement Director, who is in charge of encouraging younger female kids to pursue STEM fields through TEAMS events and Girl Scout Day. 

thumbnail_11666153_1137487792934138_5886131090810129242_n1. How did you decide to become a SWE board member?

I started my involvement in SWE my freshman year as an office assistant for the Senior Sleepover Chair, and I realized I wanted to get more involved with planning outreach events. I am from a small town, and it was thanks to Project Lead The Way that I even knew what engineering was. And so, I wanted to be able to help introduce other students to the field (of engineering as a whole) and show them that it is more than science and math but also coming up with creative solutions to make the world a better place.

2. What is your favorite kind of music?

I tend to listen to a lot of country music in the summer and more pop in the winter. But my all time favorite artists are Ellie Goulding and Ed Sheeran, both of which I’ve been lucky enough to see live.

3. Which major did you pick and how did you choose it?

I am graduating in Environmental and Ecological Engineering this spring and continuing my education in the field with a Masters. I knew coming into Purdue that I wanted a career dealing with the environment due to my love of nature and growing up around Pokagon State Park in NE Indiana. All I had to do was follow my interests to find my home in an engineering sub-set.

4. What is your favorite holiday?

My favorite holiday is Halloween because I love seeing all the creativity involved in the costumes.

5. Do you have any plans for after you graduate?

After graduation, I will be staying here at Purdue to complete my Masters. During the summer, I will be returning to John Deere for my third internship, working on environmental engineering in Waterloo, IA.

6. What are you most excited to do this semester?

I am most excited for graduation. It’s exciting to have one chapter ending so I can start the next one!

-Bailey Hayes

Leave a Reply

