Varsha Ganapathy: PSWE Vice President

This is another installment of our “Meet the Board” series that features our amazing board members. Today, we introduce you to Varsha Ganapathy, PSWE Vice President. 

thumbnail_summer1. Why did you choose Purdue?

Coming from the Chicagoland area, I had always heard that Purdue has an amazing engineering program and there are a lot of opportunities for women in engineering. I fell in love with campus the first time I visited after being accepted and knew right away that Purdue was the school for me. There’s such a welcoming atmosphere and the random people you meet are so friendly!

2. What is your favorite study break?

I enjoy working out at the CoRec or catching up on some of my favorite TV shows!

3. What has been your biggest challenge at Purdue?

My biggest challenge thus far (like every other college student) has been figuring out what I want to do with the rest of my life. I have so many interests and passions which led to my involvement in a ton of student organizations; each organization has helped me understand what I want to continue pursuing in the future. For example, I have been involved with a lot of outreach organizations and that has inspired me to want to start an outreach program for young girls at some point after I start working.

4. What is your favorite SWE memory?

Trade Show 2016. I was so happy and relieved to see that my event was successful and that both the company representatives and students had a great time!

5. What has been the most rewarding part of being Vice President of SWE?

The most rewarding aspect of my position in SWE has been getting to know a lot of the PSWE members and hearing about how SWE has made a difference in their life. Whether its a social event or a professional networking session, there is always an opportunity to meet people, make new friends, and have fun; knowing that people appreciate something that we’ve worked hard on all year makes it worthwhile.

6. What is your favorite place to eat on campus?

I really like Thai food so maybe Basil Thai but I also like tea a lot so Greyhouse. This is a hard question.

-Peggy Magro

Leave a Reply

