November 16, 2016

Hey everyone, and welcome to another Weekly Destresser! I hope you guys had a good week…if not, you came to the right place. 🙂

So, apparently Thanksgiving’s coming up soon which means most of us are probably going home for the first time this year (including me)! Many of us have different traditions for celebrating Thanksgiving, but we all know that it’s our way of giving thanks to a good life…at least, that’s how I see it. Because of the upcoming holiday, I just thought I’d share what my family does every year and what we’re doing this year.

Every year, for about the last eight years (including this year), my cousin and I each take turns planning a Thanksgiving feast centered around one specific cuisine. For the first year, we prepared a really simple Italian cuisine with pizza and pasta. At that point, we decided to go above and beyond and try foods we hadn’t even tried yet. Then came years of Mediterranean, French, German (which ended up not being planned right, apologies to all), a vegetarian American Thanksgiving, Thai, and finally Korean. The last two years, especially, turned out fantastic especially since my cousin and I were actually old enough to cook almost everything while our moms went shopping.

This year, though, I had a decision to make: either we would go for another Asian cuisine or we try something different. I ultimately chose a mixture of English and Irish food because I thought it would be kinda interesting. Hopefully, it all works–fingers crossed!!

-Subhiksha, your editor

Leave a Reply

