Fiona O’Dowd: Community Service Chair

This entry  is part of of a series called “Meet the Board,” where readers can learn more about the individual people who are part of the executive board. This week, we shed light on our community service chair, Fiona O’Dowd. The community service chair organizes service events showcasing local and/or international charities at least once a month.

1. Why did you want to join SWE?

img_20160827_123547I wanted to join SWE because I wanted to be a part of a professional engineering organization at the college level.  I wasn’t quite sure what type of engineering I wanted to do right when I started, so things like AIChE didn’t make any sense for me. SWE made sense because it spanned every discipline and has so many different facets. I have all of these amazing professional development activities at my fingertips, but I’m also able to forge friendships at all of our other activities.

2. What is your favorite animal?

The leafy sea dragon because it’s so ridiculous looking and I always remember running to see that first whenever I went to the National Aquarium when I was younger.

3. Why did you want to be the community service chair?

Community service has always been an important part of my life. When I was too little to even start Girl Scouts, I would tag along at some of the events with my mom, and that really escalated through high school when I was doing more of the event planning for organizations like Key Club and Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership. Being the community service chair allows me to continue this love of service through an organization I’m already a part of! I really enjoy the challenge of finding new places we can help out and ways to make service social!

4. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life what would it be?

If I could only eat one food, it would have to be pizza. For me, pizza is all about the crazy combinations of toppings you put on it, so there would be endless flavor combinations.

5. What are some of your goals for college and beyond?

I really want to study abroad while I’m at college, hopefully for an entire semester. That’s always been a dream of mine. Additionally, I chose the discipline of MSE because I’m really interested in increasing the sustainability of products and/or processes, so getting to be involved with that would be a solid long-term goal of mine.

6. What’s your favorite season?

My favorite season is fall because the weather is so nice. All the leaves on the trees in the mountains start changing, and apples are in season!

-Melisa Dove

Leave a Reply

