Sarah Reaves: PSWE President

This is the first entry of a new series called “Meet the Board,” where readers can learn more about the individual people who are part of the executive board. This week, we hear from our president, Sarah Reaves. The president oversees the organization and makes contacts with National SWE.

1. What got you interested in SWE?

image001In high school, I came to JEEP and it was really cool for me to see so many women in engineering! As a freshman, I became an office assistant and learned so much about PSWE and the different areas that we focus in. The professional area caught my attention the most and since then I have been very involved in the professional side of PSWE.

2. What is one thing people don’t know about you?

I can bake just about anything!

3. What are your goals for after college?

I am going to work for Flint Hills Resources in an Environmental Engineering Rotational Program. After the rotational program is over, I am hoping to start working on a masters in environmental policy!

4. Are you a coffee or tea person?

Tea. My favorite is peach green tea!

5. What advice do you have for underclassmen?

Be yourself! Don’t compare yourself to all of your classmates and friends. At the end of the day, you have to be making yourself happy first.

6. What does your ideal vacation look like and why?

Going to Spain for 2 weeks and immersing myself in all of the Spanish culture I can find! I have been in love with Spanish culture for as long as I can remember and 2 days in Spain last spring break was not enough time. I’m hoping to go after I graduate in May!

-Claire Bailie

Leave a Reply

