Alumni Spotlight: Kateri Gilliland

This is the first installment in a series of articles highlighting alumni of PSWE who wanted to share their experiences. Today’s alum is Kateri Gilliland.

“1. Where do you work and how long have you worked there?

I am currently a graduate student in the department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Washington. I have been here since September 2014.

2. What is your favorite part about your job?

I enjoy learning new and interesting material in my courses, and when I teach undergraduate courses, I really love seeing students really grasp the material and leave the class as better engineers than when they entered it.

3. What is a new hobby you’ve been able to pick up (or re-start)?

Still having classes of my own, I have not had as much time for hobbies as I would like, but in summers when things are slower, I have been able to start reading again for fun and learning craft projects like cross-stitching and knitting.

4. What do you miss most about PSWE?

I miss Purdue and being closer to family and friends (both of which contain PSWE alumni) as Seattle is really far from Indiana. PSWE (and additionally WIEP) has created a very unique and supportive community for women engineers at Purdue that I have found that not everyone has. Additionally, there was always something cool to get involved with from Rube Goldberg to activities with future engineers to monthly membership meetings. Also bagel breaks were the best way to start a Friday morning.”

-Haley & Jennie

Leave a Reply

