5 Tips for Keeping Your Resolutions

I don’t know about you, but I always start off the new semester (or year) making resolutions. These stick for the first couple of weeks until I get busy or exams roll around. If you’re like me, this list will hopefully help us stay on track this new semester (and year). Maybe by next year I’ll be reading before all my classes and flossing regularly!

 

  1. Have someone hold you accountable.

Whenever I want to wimp out and skip the gym because it’s cold out, my friend encourages me to go anyway. Hold them accountable to something, too!

 

  1. Break it down.

Changing habits can be hard. If it’s a big change, break the goal down to see what steps to take to get there. For example, if you want to get better grades, some of these steps could include reading before class or re-writing your class notes.

 

  1. Set yourself up for success.

Set rewards for working on your resolutions. Whenever I’m studying, I set goals to work towards. When I reach my goals, I’ll take a little break to do something I enjoy. It’s also a great way to relieve stress!

 

  1. Don’t fret!

If you fall away from a resolution, don’t worry! Look at the resolution and figure out whether you still need to work towards it. If so, just pick it back up and keep going! Self-improvement isn’t always easy, but it is worth it in the end.

 

  1. Know the why.

Knowing why you want to get better can help motivate you to keep working towards your goals even when it is challenging.

 

Good luck keeping your New Year’s and new semester resolutions! You can do it!

-Leann Demorest

Leave a Reply

