5 Things Tina Fey Taught Me About Engineering

1.On finishing projects: “It will never be perfect, but perfect is overrated. Perfect is boring.”

There is always something to fix even if you’ve been working on it all semester. It’s okay if it is not perfect. These little imperfections are reminders that you’re still learning and growing. If it were perfect, what could you learn from it?

2. On problem-solving: “Whatever the problem, be part of the solution. Don’t just sit around raising questions and pointing out obstacles.”

Think big, and think outside the box. Though it is important to think critically about new ideas, focusing on achieving a strong, innovative solution is more important.

3. On pursuing your goals: “Don’t waste your energy trying to change opinions… Do your thing, and don’t care if they like it.”

It can be easy to try to please everyone, but at the end of the day, make sure you’re pleased with yourself and where you are going. Set your goals high, figure out how to achieve them, and keep doing your thing.

4. On bettering yourself: “There are no mistakes, only opportunities.

After interviews, I tend to dwell on what I could have said instead. I think to myself “I should’ve said that…” or “Why did I talk about that?” Try to take those “I should’ve…” moments and turn them into opportunities to grow and learn.

5. On friendship: “ I also want to share this with my sweet friend Amy Poehler, who I’ve known for so long. I’ve known you for so long, and I love you!”

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler have each other for support, friendship, and laughs when things get tough. Engineering is hard, and you need people who have your back. Your SWEople are here to support you through it all!

tinafey

-Leann Demorest

Leave a Reply

