Welcome (Back) from Meredith, PSWE President

“Welcome new boilermakers and welcome back current SWE members! I look forward to seeing all of you as the year progresses. I hope you all had a wonderful summer. I spent mine at Hormel Foods in Austin, MN as an Industrial Engineering Intern. I met some great people, had some great food and took away some invaluable experience. I will be going into my senior year and am in disbelief in how fast these past few years have gone.

All of our executive board members have been working hard to plan events and add their personal touch to them. I know the first week of classes is information overload, but I highly encourage you all to attend as many SWE events in the next few weeks as possible. Quickly approaching is our Ice Cream Social, Fall Callout and welcome back Taco Party. These events are perfect for meeting new SWE members, befriending existing members you haven’t gotten to know and just hang out with old friends!

A new year means new opportunities to get involved with SWE. Keep up to date on our website, calendar and read through Holly’s Happenings to stay in the know of all the events going on in SWE. I challenge you all to volunteer or participate in an event you have never attended before. SWE is here to help you grow as a young professional, strengthen your passion for engineering and give back to the community and Purdue.  From myself and the 2015-2016 board members, welcome back and have a great first week!”

I hope you enjoyed this guest post from our President, Meredith Shannon!

-Erin, your editor.

Leave a Reply

