A Note from the President

Ashley Stroup

AshleyI wanted to share a little recap of the year with you all as I look back on everything that has happened during my time as SWE president. Throughout the year, I’ve been continuously impressed with the members of our executive board. This is a wonderful group of people who have exceeded my expectations at every turn. We have been able to put on a number of unique new events this year, and that is a direct result of the hard work and dedication of these individuals.

I’ve also seen a lot of great potential from some of the rising leaders in the organization. I have seen many of our office assistants, SWEetie Sidekicks, and competition team members get very involved in Purdue SWE this year. I have no doubt that your enthusiasm for SWE will help us grow and develop even more in future years.

If you’ve been to the SWE office in the Civil Building (Room 1244) you will have noticed two things: it’s small, and there are a ton of things crammed into this small space. This includes walls lined with plaques of awards that Purdue SWE has won over the years. Our section’s Charter (from November 1st, 1954) is surrounded by awards that we’ve collected throughout our nearly 60 year history. The newest of these awards being the Boilermaker Pride Award from the Dean of Students for outstanding participation in a competition. SWE has participated in many competitions this year, including: Homecoming, Intramurals, Rube Goldberg, and Grand Prix. Our Intramural floor hockey team won the first ever Intramural Women’s Floor Hockey Championships at Purdue! I hope to see SWE grow our competitions next year with the addition of TEAM Tech, which is held through National SWE and sponsored by Boeing.

On behalf of this year’s officers (VP- Claudia Aguilar, Treasurer- Sequoia Murray, and Secretary- Rachel Lindsay), I would like to thank everyone who has planned, volunteered at, and participated in SWE events this year. I look forward to seeing SWE continue to be the best (in my slightly biased opinion) student organization at Purdue, and one of the best SWE collegiate sections in the country, next year!

~Ashley Stroup

Author: Ele Chakraborty

Hi! My name is Ele and I am a junior in Biomedical Engineering and a CCO Ambassador. In my free time, I love to make graphic design, write, and figure out how to make the impossible possible.

Leave a Reply

