In the Scope: PSWE advisor shares her personal favs and perspective about award

Beth Holloway, PSWE advisor and WIEP director, received the annual Society of Women Engineers’ Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award this past November.  The award “celebrates an outstanding contribution” by a SWE advisor who has spent at least three years actively mentoring a SWE collegiate section.

According to Holloway, the Outstanding Faculty Award means that she “gets to work with the best students ever.”  She is humbled that her students nominated her for an award that reflects her enjoyment as an advisor.

“I really enjoy seeing the students learn and practice their leadership and management skills,” Holloway said.  “PSWE is great because I get to watch students grow professionally and personally, and then stay in touch with them when they graduate.”

To show appreciation for “the best advisor ever,” the PSWE board decided to find out a bit more about Holloway.  Here is the scope of the interview!

EC:  What hobbies do you have?

BH:  I love to read fiction, go on hikes with my family, and watch movies. And I spend a lot of time watching my kids play their chosen sport each season.

EC:  What’s your food guilty pleasure?

BH:  Is sugar considered a food? I guess anything that has sugar as a main ingredient. I just finished off a container of frosting from the pantry.

EC:  Do you prefer Coca Cola or Pepsi?

BH:  I’m a Dr. Pepper girl.

EC:  What’s the last song you listened to on your iPod?

BH:  Something by Katie Perry – might have been “Wide Awake.”

EC:  What’s the last thing you bought?

BH:  Hmmmm….I think it was either a Polar Pop (I’m addicted) or a ticket to see my daughter play her first volleyball game.

EC:  What’s your favorite TV show?

BH:  Rizzoli and Isles on TNT.

EC:  Why is engineering important to you?

BH:  Engineering is important to me because I see it as a really effective way to change the world. I love being able to play a part, however small, in educating the next generation of world changers.

EC:  What is your favorite color socks to wear?

BH:  I don’t really like socks. I’d rather let my toes breath. Winter is rough because my feet get too cold in sandals and I have to wear regular shoes.

EC:  If you were stranded on a desert island, what three items would you take with you?

BH:  My bed, my Kindle, and some peanut butter M&Ms. Heaven.

Congratulations, Beth Holloway!

Author: Ele Chakraborty

Hi! My name is Ele and I am a junior in Biomedical Engineering and a CCO Ambassador. In my free time, I love to make graphic design, write, and figure out how to make the impossible possible.

Leave a Reply

